I have 2 servers, in 2 different geographical locations, running Centos 4.5 and 6.2 with a data folder that is synchronised using rsync. Files are created / edited on BOTH servers. I am happy with the synchronisation process. The problem I have is with deleting files / folders. Once the data folder has fully synchronised, if a user deletes one or more files on one server, they will be recreated at next synchronisation from the remote server and vice versa.
I am looking for a solution that will allow users on Windows workstations to delete files and folders on one server and the same files and folders from the remote server.
One possible solution may be to create a text file that has a list of files and folders that require deletion. Before the synchronisation script is run, this file is processed and the designated files and folders are moved (bit like a recycle bin) to a different folder that is not included in the synchronisation process. The text file will be synchronised to the remote server and the process repeated there as well, before the synchronisation of the data folder is initiated.
If you can offer a better solution, so much the better.